Reviews

Sort By: Date Most Helpful Rating 41-50 of 95 Reviews
Aniko   –  
Germany DE
Visited: November 2019 Reviewed: Jan 8, 2020

Email Aniko  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Awesome
5/5

Absolutely awesome, perfect driver, nice accommodation. Love all the gorilla's. Big hug. Anikó

Rasmus   –  
Denmark DK
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Oct 29, 2019

Email Rasmus  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Rasmus and not that of SafariBookings.
Worst Tour Operator Ever
1/5

NEVER PICK THIS TOUR OPERATOR.
We had ordered 11 days round-trip to Uganda. We met with the owner Richard who brought an itinerary and a contract stating that everything we payed for in the trip was based on the itinerary. However, during the trip, half of the nights the accommodation was changed last minute. The worst thing was that the accommodation change was often for the worse, and some nights we stayed in so filthy and bad accommodation we rather wanted to leave and pay for accommodation elsewhere by ourselves. In the trip we had also booked Chimpanzee trekking in Kibale as the big highlight. We arrived in a town near Kibale at around 3 pm the day before the trekking, where the tour operator (Richard) calls us to let us know that we are not able to make the Kibale chimpanzee trekking because he failed to get the permits, THE DAY BEFORE WE HAD TO GO. Additionally, the itinerary stated that lunch and drinking water would be included all days which we rarely got.
Besides these problems, there were a lot of other issues about Richard miscommunication with the driver/guide and confusing us and our guide several times. Richard does not care about his customers, he just wants their money and will thereafter ensure that you have a completely disorganized trip. We managed to get the money back from the chimpanzee trekking permits, but honestly, with all the change in accommodation and all the last minute changes he put us through, he should have compensated us a lot more money for a failed trip in many regards.
If I could, I would NEVER book this tour again and would AT ANY TIME pick another tour operator. Its one of the most stressful trips and dysfunctional tours I have ever been on even though we payed to have all inclusive in order to relax and not mind anything. Even though I go on vacation 4 times a year and have been pretty much everywhere in the world, I have never tried anything like this.
Luckily, the driver and guide Paddy was an extremely polite and nice young man. We had a very nice time with him, and we felt bad for him that he had to endure the constant miscommunication and our anger about the trip due to Richards incompetence.
LASTLY, there we some parts of the itinerary which was completely wrong and falsely stated. One of the days it was stated that you get to the park, go inside (which cost 40 dollars per day per person) and go for safari. This was not the case, and Richard would not pay to let us stay inside the park and go for safari even though he acknowledged that it was wrongly stated on the itinerary, so we ended up paying ourselves.
Lastly but not least, it got so bad at one time we went to the police in order to charge Richard and make him pay some of our money back for the failed experiences. We found out it was a very long process and did not want to spend vacation time on it, but I would wish now that we would have filed a complaint and charged him so he would hopefully learn that you cannot take tourists money and then piss on them afterwards.
I HOPE THAT NO ONE PICKS THIS COMPANY IF YOU WANT TO HAVE A GOOD NICE TIME AND RELAXING SAFARI.
Otherwise, Uganda is a lovely country and the nature and the parks a breathtaking.

Reply from Karumuna Safaris
Reply from Karumuna Safaris
Posted on Nov 1, 2019

Dear Rasmus,
We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience on your trip with us.
Please note that you who booked two days to safari which did not provide ample time for us but we were okay with it because we really wanted you to go for it,

Secondly, you made the payment through bank transfer when you were already in the country and it was over the weekend of which the money took one week to be active on the account but we decided to use our own money to start your trip which was starting on Monday and additionally to that we openly told you when we met you at the hotel that it was peak season meaning that we might find some of the lodges fully booked therefore in case of any change in accommodation, be aware and you said you were okay with everything and we kindly explained about chimps permits that "WE HOPEFULLY TO GET THE CHIMPS PERMITS" which failed and later agreed to refund you the money for the permits at the end of your trip which is against our company terms and conditions BUT WE DID IT FOR YOU (WE REFUNDED YOU) as you stated it in the review.

As our other clients testify from the 5 star reviews, we pride ourselves in providing excellent services to all our clients to make their safari experience memorable.

Best regards
Jonah
Admin
Karumuna safaris

Julian   –  
United Kingdom UK
Visited: October 2019 Reviewed: Oct 20, 2019

Email Julian  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Great first safari!
5/5

I took the 5 day gorillas and chimps safari.
Communication prior to the trip was very good, and Richard kept on top of things.
While in Uganda, I spent my time predominantly with Richard and his trainee guide Jonah. They were attentive and very pleasant. The same applies to everyone I was introduced to.
The trip was well managed with Richard being punctual and organised. Two of the planned accommodations differed, but their substitutes still gave me a good night's rest.
I was unfortunately not able to see the chimpanzees, but I had many other amazing animal encounters. Great care was taken to ensure I was not disappointed. Additionally, I also had the opportunity to visit the communities with guides.
It was my first time in Africa and I was kept busy while safe and comfortable. I'm very pleased I chose Karumuna Safaris and would recommend them to anyone wanting to visit Uganda.

Manuel Silva   –  
Belgium BE
Visited: August 2019 Reviewed: Aug 18, 2019

Email Manuel Silva  |  35-50 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

The review below is the personal opinion of Manuel Silva and not that of SafariBookings.
They need to improve certain areas
3/5

I did a 7 day tour with Karumuna Safaris as solo traveller. The good points:
- The cost was much lower compared to other agencies... But be aware that you get what you pay for. They delivered, but the accommodation was quite basic most of the times, and the guide and driver quite young and unexperienced
- They managed to organize everything in a very short notice. Richard went the extra mile to make sure I did not miss a thing, even though a lot of the attractions were fully booked. I missed the chimps during the chimpanzee tracking, but it's not their fault
- Flexibility with payment methods
The bad points:
- Henry, the guide, was quite unexperienced and he lacks customer service skills. There was a constant lack of communication, he was late (90min late on one ocassion) and disaorganized quite often (not even aware of the plan for next day). I communicated with him to find a solution together and he simply did not care and became even more aloof. He even got quite arrogant, i.e. I asked him why we were stopping so often when actually we were late to reach our destination, and he said "all the stops are strictly necessary". Truth is, some of the stops were for them to buy food for their families... Should not be a problem if you communicate it in a different way.
- Driving issues: we were driving quite fast in many occasions, to the point that we run once into a bumper without braking off and I literally went flying towards the front. They were stopped by the police and got a fine (not sure why) and also the van had mechanical issues which forced us to stop to get it repaired
- Trying to save money on silly things: for example, refusing to use the A/C in the car when it was quite hot and opening windows instead (so you are breathing fumes be getting dust inside) saying that the airco consumes too much petrol, or stopping to get bananas as a snack and asking you to pay 1000 ugx out of total cost of 2000, when 7 out of the 10 bananas were eaten by the guide and the driver
I personally found the experience a bit unfortunate, because with little effort it could have been much better... But I got the impression that they did not care anymore at some point (I haven't heard again from anyone in the agency, even though I'm still around in Kampala). The trip was quite ok but those small things sometimes can make a big difference... You might think I may sound picky, but I have worked and travelled in many countries in Africa, so my standards are quite low compared to the classic Western tourist. To summarize, go for them if you are in a very low budget but if you can pay more, I recommend you look for other options

Carola   –  
Switzerland CH
Visited: March 2019 Reviewed: Apr 1, 2019

Email Carola  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

It was a amazing, varied time wirh a very good symatic driver Richard.
5/5

We got really spontain organized a perfect tour around the mount elgon. Our guide heard about our wishes what to do and to see and everithing was great with various guides. The locations and the food were very good. And we felt very safe during our travel with the van. Thanks again!

Maris   –  
Latvia LV
Visited: September 2018 Reviewed: Feb 21, 2019

Email Maris  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

Nice wildlife adventure in Africa
5/5

Last September with Karumuna Safari we have wonderful week in Uganda. This was my first trip to Africa and expectations was fulfilled completely. First, although not traveling together earlier the group was surprisingly very solid and, second, our local guides from Karumuna Safaris (led by Richard Kesembo) who organized this trip were very good. In 9 days, I can say we saw a lot and have no objections that Winston Churchill named Uganda as the Pearl of Africa early last century. Staring from Mabamba swamp on Victoria lake, after crossing equator, visiting Kidepo Valley and Murchison Falls National Parks as well as managing boat tour by Victoria Nile to Murchison Falls and finally - a Ziwa Rhino Sanctuary. What more you can expect from so short visit to Uganda? It was a real nature adventure I was dreaming from childhood when was reading books about savanna wildlife. We saw lots of animals, including 4 of the big Five-excluding lions although Karamuna guys even additionally perform a night game trip in Murchison Falls National Park. But probably it was not our day this time. So, something should be left for next time.
What surprised me, was a nice and welcoming people in Uganda. Believe me. I have been in very many remote places and in very many countries (so far only in Northern hemisphere), but here I feel very comfortable and relaxed in contacting people. By the way, in Kidepo was also possibility to see the “untouched” or real Africa where tourists are very seldom. This was something what is difficult to imagine here in Europe and I was amazed that people can live in such harmony with nature without services that are in our everyday life.
During travel in most remote site - Kidepo, extraordinary accident happens. It is hardly to imagine how we could get out from situation, but the guys helped very much to sort it out, make necessary local arrangements, adjust the travel schedule and even assisted it after we already return back at home.
Finally, if you asked me about the travel how it was organized, I would say “very good”. But if you asked me about if something goes wrong during travel (like our group experienced and can happens with you anywhere in the world), when in such situations I should say – “perfect”. This company can manage everything in drastic or critical situation where travelers could be confused, helpless and could not see the way out. I am fully trusting these guys and if I will decide to come back to Uganda next time, only the Karumuna Safaris will be my choice. Thanks a lot for the nice time!
So, if you are planning to go on safari in Uganda, do recommend you Karumuna Safaris as they are excellent nature guides, and can assist you to solve any problem or your wish.

Zoltan Vincze   –  
Hungary HU
Visited: February 2019 Reviewed: Feb 16, 2019

Email Zoltan Vincze  |  20-35 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Thank you
5/5

I have had a great time, thank you for everything!

Dzintris   –  
Latvia LV
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Jan 5, 2019

Email Dzintris  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: over 5 safaris

Karumunas staff are my friends and I am convinced I will be back in Uganda again
5/5

Ouh, yes, that was my third safari in Uganda, pearl of Africa and I allways go with Karumuna becose of excellent hospitality and appriciate high our cooperation. We were a big group from Latvia - 15 persons and I was a bit in stress by start becose of big number of persons. So all was very good and what is very important - good prices and cooperation, excellent guides and mr Richard Kisembo, owner of Karumuna checkd for all our needs during our trip. We travelled Mabamba swamp with shoebill, Bwindi with gorillas, Kalinzu forest, Qeen Elizabeth and Murchison falls national parks and finished with white rhinos in Ziwa sanctuary. By the way it was a good chance to look for the lives of ordinary people of Uganda. It is my pleasure to adwice Karumuna as the best partner in Uganda safaris. My three times with them are the best evidence for that. I am convinced I come back again. Best wishes from Latvia. Sveicieni no Latvijas!

Mark   –  
Australia AU
Visited: November 2018 Reviewed: Jan 5, 2019

Email Mark  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: first safari

PINCH ME! Was I dreaming what a lifetime experience we got from Karumuna Safaris
5/5

Just got back from doing a never to forget Safari tour with Karumuna Safaris in Uganda.
First, it was so hard for us to pick a country in Africa to go and see the Big 5 but one day I stumbled across some information about Uganda. Uganda had so much more to offer than the other African countries as they had the lot, the Big 5 and the chimpanzees and the all mighty gorillas. It was then not that hard to make our decision in which destination we were going to take. I did some research and was told by other travellers about this boutique safari company Karumuna Safaris. I contacted this company and spoke to the principal Richard and asked him for a quotation on a 14-day Safari around Uganda to see all Uganda had to offer me. We started asking a million questions and he was so professional in putting together and organising the safari for us to suit all our needs and asks, we must have changed it at least 5 times, he was so good he told us the good things and the bad and made us up an extraordinary 14-day package for us while at the same time liaising with us step by step. When we got the final 14-day safari tour it was so cheap compared to the other countries we first had in mind like Tanzania, Kenya and South Africa with the bonus of seeing Chimps and Gorillas. The big day arrived, and we did not know what to expect but when we started on the first day we walked with Zebras, antelopes and monkeys running all around us, what a start and how can it get better. The next day just got better and the following even better, the 14-day tour was an amazing safari as each day was better than the last. I could go on and on forever but yes, we did see the big 5 and the cheeky chimps and the amazing Gorillas that we will never forget and of all the intimate contacts with the animals. Richard was correct when telling us he would put a Safari together which you will never forget the experience, Yes, he was right. He took us all around in a safe and protective way but brought us up so close to wild animals where your jaw just dropped. His experience was second to none. We stayed in amazing places with fabulous views and the food was what we did not expect it was so up market and so tasty. We did not worry about anything, he looked after us all the way and what he said prior all came true. We had no unexpected experiences or surprises it all ran like clockwork. I can honestly say if you want to go to Africa to experience the best thing in your life you need to go to Uganda and yes, I will and have no hesitation in recommending Richard from Karumuna Safaris as he will make sure you will be as happy and carry the fond memories forever like he did so for us. We are thinking of a definite return and we will of course contact Richard to take us on another memorable experience. Thank you very very much Richard and all your team that put this wonderful Safari together for us we cannot fault it in any way, you are truly good at your job.

Maris Pukitis   –  
Latvia LV
Visited: December 2018 Reviewed: Dec 25, 2018

Email Maris Pukitis  |  50-65 years of age  |  Experience level: 2-5 safaris

Good offer for good price.
4/5

Karamuna Safaris offer lets to see very much - from Uganda's villages to nature. I took the photos of the gorillas, antilopes, giraffes, hipos, elephants, many birds. Food was OK, sometimes - very OK. My group lived in budget hotels, so hot water wasn't in everywhere, but I understand that it's not 4 or 5 stars hotel. Our guides were nice and kind. Only my special ask - don't hurry in savannah, better wait, when the tourists want to see and take pictures of the animals.

Average User Rating
4.1/5
Rating Breakdown
  • 5 star 80
  • 4 star 6
  • 3 star 3
  • 2 star 0
  • 1 star 6
Write a Review

Disclaimer

  • All corporate and/or tour info is provided by Karumuna Safaris, not SafariBookings
  • The tours offered by Karumuna Safaris are subject to their terms & conditions